The One Where She Finds Her Place

KARAKOL. MY PERMANENT PLACEMENT IS EXACTLY WHERE I WANTED, HOW OFTEN DOES THAT HAPPEN?! I actually don’t know how often, I’m sure all the time but I’m really excited so whatever. Not only have I found out my placement but in my placement packet included a letter from my Counter Part (which everyone got) and a day to day, hour to hour, schedule for my summer with my CP and I’m thrilled. I was able to sit down with another volunteer who knows my CP personally and she basically soothed any worries I could have had. Going into an amazing area with a CP who is excited and ready to work and to have fun. Really what more could a girl ask for?

Everyone always asks what my goals are while I’m here, what do I want to accomplish? What kind of impact do I want to make? What secondary projects do I want to do? And frankly, I don’t know. I know I’m here to help and make any kind of impact that I can. However small that is that’s fine but if I can push someone in the right direction to eventually make a change for the better then that’s making the most of my time. From what I’ve learned about my CP so far I feel like this could be my impact. She wants to apply for teaching abroad programs and has all these motivations for herself and that’s what I’m here for. Yeah I’ll find my side projects and I know that I would love to do some work on gender equality and sex education if possible but I have a CP who seems like she wants my help and I’m going to do my best to help her in any way I can. So cheers to permanent placements and moving forward.

Leave a Reply

