The One Where She Can’t Stop Thinking About John Mayer

So there’s this John Mayer song called 3×5 and it’s always been one of my favorite songs of his.  The lyrics and certain lines have always stuck with me and especially being here I think of this song every single day.

I’m writing you to
catch you up on places I’ve been
You held this letter
probably got excited, but there’s nothing else inside it
didn’t have a camera by my side this time
hopping I would see the world with both my eyes
maybe I will tell you all about it when I’m
in the mood to lose my way with words
Today skies are painted colors of a cowboy’s cliche’
And strange how clouds that look like mountains in the sky
are next to mountains anyway
Didn’t have a camera by my side this time
Hoping I would see the world with both my eyes
Maybe I will tell you all about it when I’m
in the mood to lose my way
but let me say
You should have seen that sunrise with your own eyes
it brought me back to life
You’ll be with me next time I go outside
just no more 3×5’s Guess you had to be there
Guess you had to be with me Today I finally overcame
tryin’ to fit the world inside a picture frame
Maybe I will tell you all about it when I’m in the mood to
lose my way but let me say
You should have seen that sunrise with your own eyes
it brought me back to life
You’ll be with me next time I go outside
no more 3×5’s
just no more 3×5’s

And strange, how clouds that look like mountains in the sky are next to mountains anyways. I hear this song in my head every single time I’m in a mashrutka, looking at other volunteers photos, walking to work and looking out my window every single morning.  When the clouds float through the mountains here and the times when I’ve been on a hike and had a low cloud come through it just resonates with me every single time.  You should have seen that sunrise with your own eyes it brought me back to life.  I don’t know what it is about the sunrises and especially the sunsets here but they’re a whole different deal than anything I’ve seen before.  The colors reflecting off the mountains and the contrast of the darkness of the mountains against the colors of the sunset, that’s that good shit man.  And they really do bring me back to life.  Walking home after a long and maybe frustrating day and seeing that, just fixes it.  Recharges my mind.

I get a hard time from pretty much everyone I know about not taking enough pictures.  The thing is, I’m taking pictures every single day.  But none of the photos I take do what I’m seeing on a daily basis any justice.  None what so ever.  I wish I could take what I’m seeing and be able to just project that so everyone at home could see it through my eyes.  From the ridiculous things I see in town, to watching my siblings dance, to the amazing country I’m living in, the photos just don’t do it any justice.

image1

For example, this is a shitty picture taken on my phone while I was driving through Bom Canyon on my way to Karakol from Bishkek.  The way the sun was lighting the mountains through the rain clouds and the color of the river was just ridiculous but…..this looks like shit. So I’ll keep taking pictures and I’ll keep posting them but you should come see it with me.

Leave a Reply

