The One Where She Has March Favorites

Women’s Day- So even though Women’s Day is an international holiday it isn’t celebrated the way it should be in America (in my opinion).  Granted it’s starting to grow and get more popular but there’s still a way to go.  Kyrgyzstan on the other hand does Women’s Day RIGHT.  This has been probably my favorite day in country so far.  Everyone is walking around with flowers to give to the women in their lives, there are specials at restaurants where women can get free dessert, cheaper taxi rides all kinds of benefits.  Steph and I had to run some errands around center before we had dinner with a big group of us at Nurgul Eje’s and we had every male say happy holiday to us and I LOVE saying happy holidays here because every woman at the bazaar that we said it too their entire faces lit up and that’s what it’s about.  But it was great to have a day that was just for me and where I got to celebrate the women in my life.

Making Sushi- Sarah and I made handmade sushi in the beginning of the month and it was unREAL.  It was outrageously delicious and surprisingly easy.  So it’s nice to know that now we can make that anytime we want really.

Neil Gaiman- I think a Neil Gaiman book has been on my favorites every month since maybe September? I’m just enthralled with his writing and the pictures he paints.  He has some books being turned into movies and shows coming up and I’m really excited.  I also have a handful of his books downloaded and ready to be read.

The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh- I read this in about maybe 5 hours.  This book sucked me right in.  It’s hard to describe but as I was getting to the end and the way the book was ending I wasn’t happy with and a way that I know a good book or a book I really like is when I get to the end and I start thinking there had BETTER be a sequel and lucky for me it comes out in May.

Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee- To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my favorite books of all time.  As a history major I loved it and as a living human with thoughts and feelings I loved it.  So when Harper Lee announced a second book I nearly lost my mind.  It just took me a while to get to it.  But I loved it.  I love the way Lee looked at history and the way she spoke about life, love and racism in America.  I know this book has had mixed feelings but I absolutely loved it.

Shopping- So last weekend was my friend LeAnne’s birthday and after a week of being stressed and feeling like I had been through the ringer I needed some retail therapy and that unfortunately is sometimes hard to come by in this country but I out did myself last weekend.  I bought basically any and everything and I didn’t regret it for a second.  I got some great stuff that I’m very happy with, some that I needed and some that I straight up didn’t need but like I NEEDED (blue lipstick, I couldn’t help myself).

Sense8- This SHOW. Is amazing.  The cast is outrageously diverse and impressive and the whole concept behind the show itself blows my mind.  It’s gorgeously written and executed and it was a joy to watch.  Definitely recommended.

Mozart in the Jungle- So I’ve heard a lot of buzz about this show but I hadn’t watched it even though there were two seasons out.  I LOVED this show.  It’s charming and hilarious and again the casting is phenomenal.  I mean my girl Bernadette Peters is one of the main characters.  I may or may not have watched two seasons in one day but it was worth it and the episodes are only 30 minutes so I mean whatever.

House of Cards- YES. YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. The final scene gave me chills all over my body.  Claire is the baddest bitch alive.

Leave a Reply

