The One Where She Cooks

I’ve been meaning to do this since I moved into my apartment and have been cooking for myself full time I just kept forgetting to take pictures of the food I was making and instead just inhaling it.  BUT NOT THIS TIME> I love to cook and some of my favorite meals are of course easy meals.  I come home from work and I’m exhausted and as easy as it is to make ramen every night I feel better when I have something good and it’s better for my mental health.  (But don’t get it twisted I’m still about the ramen life). So I included three meals that I make pretty regularly all of them easy and one which I’m sure everyone thinks is hard but really isn’t.

Sushi

IMG_1849

Now I know what you’re thinking.  There’s no way you can make sushi, especially in Kyrgyzstan.  WELL YOU’RE WRONG. It’s outrageously easy and we make it without all the fancy bullshit.  All of the tools you need are sold in any of the larger stores, and even some smaller ones.  But seaweed, artificial crab, pickled ginger and wasabi are all readily available.  One of the best parts of sushi, and all the meals that I’ll talk about today is you can use whatever is available at the time to make it.  All we used was egg, crab, carrots, cucumber and peppers.  Simple and easy.  Sushi is basically like making a burrito.  Lay down the seaweed with a little oil to help with flexibility and add a layer of rice (rice with a little vinegar so it’s sticky and be careful not to under or over cook the rice.  I’m horrible at this part) over all the seaweed.  Then down the middle line up ingredients of your choosing on top of each other. Then roll.  This is probably the trickiest part but it only takes practice.  My first one was a mess but Sarah (who taught me how to make it the angel) giggled at me and then had me do another one and talked me through it again.  Applying pressure slowly as you go you push and roll.  Careful not to rip the seaweed but rolling tight enough that all your fillings stay in and then let them rest to cool down (because the rice is hot) then slice and eat! Then go super quick and the whole process honestly takes maybe half an hour if you include cooking the rice.  Easy! The sushi above was made for Colleens birthday because she’s an angel and deserved it, if you aren’t reading her blog you should be shameless plug for my gurl https://prekrasno.wordpress.com

Bimimbap

IMG_2564

Bimimbap is a traditional Korean dish which I had for the first time at Chicken Star in Bishkek (if you’re in the city definitely stop by and at the very least get some coffee and sit and enjoy, it’s one of my favorite places in the city) and there are all kinds of different variations to the dish.  From what I’m learned both from the internet and from Ethan is that it’s meant to be a rice bowl and the beauty of it is that you can add anything you have int he house.  So just a mix of any and everything leftover.  I tend to model mine slightly after Chicken Stars with a few adjustments depending on what I’m in the mood for.  The above was made with seared duck, rice, carrots, cucumber, lettuce, smetana (sour cream), sriracha, some lemon juice, cilantro and soy sauce.  For me the best part is the egg on top.  Nice and runny egg yolk to mix into the rice makes the whole dish more flavorful.  I mix this up all the time and I have this meal quite frequently just all depends on what I have in the fridge and what my girl Rosa at the bazaar has for me that week.

Bagel Openfaced Sandwich

IMG_2555

This is a dinner I made all the time in grad school.  Simply toast a bagel, add cream cheese and anything you want on top.  Here I have roasted red peppers, a fried egg, cilantro, sriracha, salt and pepper and some lemon juice.  But like Bimimbap it can be anything you have in the house.  I almost always include cream cheese, peppers and a friend egg but I swap those out sometimes or just pile it up with more veggies if I’ve got them.  This is great with some spinach but that’s only if I can find it in the bazaar.

And BAM, three dinners or lunches.  All of which tend to leave leftovers or at least leftover ingredients that I can use throughout the week so I don’t have to worry about it.  That’s what meal prep is right?

One Comment Add yours

  1. colleenewood says:

    This post is great for a thousand reasons; please teach me to make bimimbap

    Like

Leave a Reply

